Surrender Your Mask

“Come to me, all you who labor and heavy laden and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

 

   This Scripture has always been one of my favorites and a wonderful reminder to me to take all the worry and stress in my life to the Lord and that he will carry me though whatever struggles life brings me into. However upon further study something suddenly popped out to me that I have never seen before.

 

                          “Take my yoke upon you”

 

   All of the sudden I get this and it stands out as this bright beacon of hope, that makes this passage mean more to me that it ever has before (and that is saying something). God is taking all of my worries and everything that weighs me down, and he gives me his burden to bear. But what is this burden and how can a burden be light?

   I believe that the burden consists very simply of seeing people find salvation through Christ and showing them the abundance of his mercy and grace. I also believe that this burden presents to each and every person in a completely unique and individual way. Christ takes the burden that we used to bear and uses that to show us the people that he needs us to reach.

  All the pain we’ve ever gone though, all the bad decisions that we have made, God desires to take from us and turn into a beautiful testimony of healing. This is a wonderful thing, because there are people who won’t accept truth from unless you have been in that situation. Being able to share a common pain is one of the best ways to lead people to finding their identity in Christ.

   The world doesn’t need a bunch of people wearing masks, masquerading around like we have no hurt. Surrender your burdens to God and let him give you his, for the hurting people in the world, and that will heal you even more.

Leave a Reply

